Election Information

City Council Election
The City Council consists of five members who are elected at-large on a non-partisan basis for a four-year term by the citizens of Hillsborough.  Elections are held in November of even-numbered years.

Candidates Appointed to Hillsborough City Council
The City Council appointed the two candidates, Marie Chuang and Laurence M. May, to the Hillsborough City Council at a Special City Council meeting held on Wednesday, August 22, 2018.  Appointing the two candidates to fill the two City Council seats allowed the Town to cancel the November 6, 2018 general municipal election and avoid the election costs.  Marie Chuang and Laurence M. May will take office at the December 10, 2018 City Council meeting.

Mayor & Vice-Mayor
The Mayor and Vice Mayor are elected by the City Council.  On Monday, December 11, 2017, the City Council re-elected Marie Chuang as Mayor and Shawn Christianson as Vice Mayor.  Both Mayor Chuang and Vice Mayor Christianson will serve a maximum of two-one year terms.  The City Council also consists of Councilmembers Jess E. (Jay) Benton, Laurence M. May and Alvin L. Royse.

General Election Information

Government Officials for the Town of Hillsborough
Phone Number
San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, District 1 Supervisor Dave Pine
Hall of Justice
400 County Center
Redwood City, CA 94063
Ph: 650-363-4571
California State Assembly, 22nd District
Assemblymember Kevin Mullin
1528 S. El Camino Real
Suite 302
San Mateo, CA 94402
Ph: 650-349-2200
California State Senate, 13th District
Senator Jerry Hill
1528 S. El Camino Real
Suite 303
San Mateo, CA 94402
Ph: 650-212-3313
United States House of Representatives, 14th District
Congresswoman Jackie Speier 155 Bovet Road, 
Suite 780
San Mateo, CA 94402
Ph: 650-342-0300