Solid Waste, Recycling & Compost

The Town of Hillsborough is a member of a Joint Powers Authority (JPA) of 12 public agencies (Atherton, Belmont, Burlingame, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Redwood City, San Carlos, San Mateo, the County of San Mateo and the West Bay Sanitary District). The JPA was formed in 1982 with a primary goal of providing cost effective waste reduction, recycling and solid waste programs to member agencies through franchised services and other recyclers to meet and sustain California's waste diversion from landfill requirements.
  1. RethinkWaste

    The JPA (South Bayside Waste Management Authority (SBWMA), also known as RethinkWaste) provides strategic oversight, support and management of service providers that collect, process, recycle and dispose of materials for the member agencies.

  2. Service Providers

    Find information about waste service providers servicing Hillsborough.

  3. Solid Waste Rates

    View current solid waste collection rates.

  4. Annual Rate Setting Process

    Read about how the annual rates for Hillsborough solid waste and recycling services are set.