HomepageAbout HillsboroughCalendarCity GovernmentContact UsSite IndexSearch
IconHomepage > City Government > City Clerk :: Election InformationE-mail storyPrint friendly format

Election Information

The Town of Hillsborough is a general law city and was incorporated on May 10, 1910. Hillsborough’s elections are held in November of even-numbered years. The Mayor and Vice-Mayor are elected by the City Council for a maximum of two one-year terms.

Candidates Appointed to Hillsborough City Council

The City Council appointed three candidates, Jess E. Benton, Shawn Christianson and Alvin L. Royse, to the Hillsborough City Council at a Special City Council meeting held on Thursday, August 23, 2012.  Appointing the three candidates to fill the three City Council seats allows the Town to cancel the November 6, 2012 Councilmember election and saves the Town approximately $15,000 in election costs.  Jess E. Benton, Shawn Christianson and Alvin L. Royse will take office at the December 10, 2012 City Council meeting

The Guidelines for Campaign Signs covers the Town of Hillsborough's mandatory requirements and voluntary guidelines for campaign signs.

The San Mateo Elections and Registrar of Voters office at www.shapethefuture.org provides on-line information about voter registration, candidate information, election schedule, absentee voting, the California Elections Code, voter turnout, election results, election officer opportunities and political parties.

For nonpartisan Election information visit www.smartvoter.org, a website from the League of Women Voters.

Site that may be of interest are the California Secretary of State at www.ss.ca.gov, the California Voter Foundation at www.calvoter.org and the League of Women Voters of California at www.ca.lwv.org.

Government Officials for the Town of Hillsborough include:

San Mateo County Board of Supervisors
Supervisor Dave Pine, District 1
Hall of Justice, 400 County Center
Redwood City, CA 94063
(650) 363-4571
website: http://www.co.sanmateo.ca.us/portal/site/bos/

California State Assembly
Assemblymember Kevin Mullin, 22nd District
1528 South El Camino Real, Suite 302
San Mateo, CA 94402
(650) 349-1900
website:  http://asmdc.org/members/a22

California State Senate
Senator Jerry Hill, 13th District
1528 South El Camino Real, Suite 303
San Mateo, CA 94402
(650) 212-3313
website: http://sd13.senate.ca.gov/

California State Senate
Senator Leland Yee, 8th District
400 South El Camino Real, Suite 630
San Mateo, CA 94402
(650) 340-8840

United States House of Representatives
Congresswoman Jackie Speier, 12th District
400 South El Camino Real, Suite 410
San Mateo, CA 94402
(650) 342-0300

For further information, please contact the City Clerk at (650) 375-7412.

The Town of Hillsborough 1600 Floribunda Avenue, Hillsborough, CA 94010 (650) 375-7400
Copyright © 1997-2014 The Town of Hillsborough. All rights reserved.Powered by