City Council

Al Royse

Mayor Alvin L. Royse
Email Alvin L, Royse

Public Works Commissioner
Term as Councilmember Expires December 2024

Christine Krolik

Vice Mayor Christine Krolik
Email Christine Krolik

Building & Planning Commissioner
Communications Commissioner
Term as Councilmember Expires December 2024

Marie Chuang

Councilmember Marie Chuang
Email Marie Chuang

Finance Department Commissioner
Alternate Communications Commissioner
Term as Councilmember Expires December 2022


Councilmember Sophie Cole
Email Sophie Cole

Fire Department Commissioner
Term as Councilmember Expires December 2024

Larry May

Councilmember Laurence M. May
Email Laurence M. May

Police Department Commissioner
Term as Councilmember Expires December 2022


  • 6:00 p.m.
  • Second Monday of each month
  • Zoom Video Conference until further notice
  • Open to the public

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes

Additional Information

The governing body of the Town of Hillsborough is the City Council, which establishes the local law and policies through enactment of ordinances and resolutions. The City Council also determines how the town shall obtain and spend funds, appoints members to all advisory municipal activities and represents the town by serving on regional and county committees / boards whose policies may impact the town.

The City Council consists of five members who are elected at-large on a non-partisan basis for a four-year term by the citizens of Hillsborough. Elections are held in November of even-numbered years. The City Council selects one of its members to be Mayor and one to be Vice Mayor, each for a maximum of two one-year terms. The City Council appoints the City Manager and the City Attorney.

On Monday, December 14, 2020, the Town of Hillsborough City Council elected Alvin L. Royse as Mayor and Christine Krolik as Vice Mayor. Mayor Royse and Vice Mayor Krolik may serve a maximum of two one-year terms. The Hillsborough City Council also includes Councilmembers Marie Chuang, Sophie Cole and Laurence M. May.

The Councilmembers are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file Statements of Economic Interests with the City Clerk's Office. Copies of the Statements of Economic Interests filed by the elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk. The address of the FPPC is 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, CA 95814.

The address of the City Clerk's Office is 1600 Floribunda Avenue, Hillsborough, CA 94010

The Statements of Economic Interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC's website.

For additional information, please reference the Town's Guide to City Council Meetings.

Town of Hillsborough City Council, Boards, and Committees Values Statement

Councilmember Compensation

Councilmembers receive no direct compensation for serving on the Council. Councilmembers are eligible to receive health insurance coverage while serving on the Council.

Base pay$0.00

Available Benefits* (2021):

*Actual benefit coverage is dependent upon participation in the benefits program, which is voluntary and has been declined by many of the City Council members, as well as the level of enrollment (member only, member +1, member + family). The maximum potential benefit for medical insurance is the Blue Shield family rate – rates shown above are the highest current benefits being paid for participating Council members.